19th Annual Smithsonian Magazine Photo Contest People
Quechua Woman (Andes Mountains/Anti)

The Inca Kings divided their empire into four parts that they called Tihuantin-Suyu, which means "The four walls of the World ", according to the four main parts of the sky: east, west, north and south.

Photo Detail
Date Taken: 06.2019
Date Uploaded: 10.2021
Photo Location: Ecuador
Copyright: © Javier Clemente Martinez